RSS Feed

Trying a New Thing

Colt turns 6 weeks old on Friday. I can honestly say I am absolutely crazy about him. I get little smiles from him now and then, he can follow things with his eye, and we’re even making progress on tummy time and holding his head up a little.

When I was pregnant, there were about 4 or 5 other couples who were due about the same time as I was. I was the last one to have my baby of that group. Now, there are about 4-5 other women who are due around April/May. Most of these ladies are 2nd time moms, however there are a few first-timers like myself in that group.

There are a lot of lessons I’ve learned in the 5 weeks since Colt was born regarding pregnancy and dealing with other pregnant women. Lessons I wish others would have taken into account when dealing with me.

10 Things I’ve learned since having a baby

(BTW, this is going to be the running theme of the blog for awhile)

Lesson #1: Buy Off the Gift Registry

At my shower, I received clothes. A lot of clothes. Oh, I received other gear as well (bouncer, diaper cake, the diaper bag I’d been drooling over), but mostly clothes. So many adorable little outfits that I could not wait to dress my little boy in.

Now, though, I’ve come to the realization that, as cute as those little outfits are, Colt might never be able to wear them. Why? They are almost all for cold weather, made for 3-6 months, and we live in Florida. It’s only February and already it’s 75-80 degrees everyday, too warm for long sleeves or pants. Mike bought colt the cutest little flannel shirt and overall set. It breaks my heart that he might only get to wear it once or twice. It was my favorite outfit.

What does this have to do with anything?

I never registered for clothes, not one stitch, and now all the well-meaning gifts may go to waste if Colt won’t even be able to fit into any of them until it’s too warm to wear them.

It’s always tempting when attending a baby shower to buy loads of cute little outfits, but always remember that clothes on a baby are temporary. If you have an extra small child, she may be in 3-month outfits at 9 or 12 month. A big baby (like Colt) may never be in newborn clothes (Colt didn’t). When shopping for a shower, think of items moms could use for awhile: burp cloths, receiving blankets, level 1 or 2 diapers, etc. None of these items are expensive and usually all of them are on the Mom-to-be’s registry.

Always review the registry and see what Mom has asked for. Some of it may be superfluous (I’m so glad no one bought me this), but much of it may be needed almost immediately (I made Mike bring me my Boppy while I was still in the hospital). The registry will also give you idea of what mom doesn’t want. Does she not have any bottles on the list? That may be deliberate. Has she registered for cloth diapers? Avoid the Huggies.

My friends Ruben and Emily are having their first in a couple months and I bought them this. This. Is. Awesome. Emily, you will thank me. When changing a poopsplosion, and organized changing table is Fuckin’ necessary.

Always buy off the registry, or at least take a look at it. If you can find something better that is in the same vein, more power to you. We always want our gifts to shine, but the ones that usually do are the ones that you can use for awhile.

(Full Disclosure: This is not me being ungrateful. I really do love every baby gift I received. From the Baby Tylenol to the Breast Pump, everything is thoroughly appreciated. Some of the gifts which I thought “When will I be able to use this?”, like the chenille blankets, have become my favorite items. I am truly angry that the weather won’t cooperate so that Colt can wear his stylish winter wardrobe longer. Maybe they can blast the AC at daycare)

About clichemomblog

I am about to enter my late 20s. I am a graphic designer and marketing professional. I am not a writer, but I'd like to save everyone on my Facebook feed from constant updates about my son. This is a way for my to vent and gush about motherhood as I want.

Leave a Reply

